The Opinionated Beer Page


Beer Reviews
Complete Lists
Our Top Picks

Australasia
Austria
Belgium
Brazil
Canada
China
Czech Republic
Denmark
England
France
Germany
Greece
Holland
India
Ireland
Italy
Jamaica
Japan
Lithuania
Mexico
Norway
Other Countries
Philippines
Poland
Romania
Russia
Scotland
Spain
Taiwan
Trinidad
USA (A-D)
USA (E-K)
USA (L-O)
USA (P-Sa)
USA (Sc-Z)
Wales

Malt Liquor
Malternative Beverages
Non-Alcoholic Brews
Trailer Park Beers

Beer Humor
Bar Room Translations
Beer: better than men
Beer: better than religion
Beer: better than women
Beer @ Work
Beer Troubleshooting
Beware of Free Beer
Chick Drinks
If OS's were beers
Norm Quotes
Signs of a bad beer
Signs you are too drunk
Signs you drank too much
Take care of the rocks
Things to say when drunk
Weekly Drinking Schedule
Your Brain on Beer

Backwash
About TOBP
Beer Facts
Beer Quotes
Beer Ratings Explained
Contact Us
Disclaimer
Editor Bio
Links
What's New?


Get Firefox


Home > Beer Reviews > Germany

Aecht Schlenkerla Rauchbier Märzen

Brauerei Heller Bamberg

Steve: Rauchbier is German for "Smoked Beer," which is pretty damn self explanatory. Although they are not the target audience, this beer would go well in places like NW Arkansas, N Georgia, and anywhere where barbecue and smokehouse restaraunts are a hit. This had a rich, smoky flavor. I thought it was like a piece of smoked pork, but my wife equated it to a good smoked cheese (figures, she's from Wisconsin). Either way, this ain't bad. Although, it is a bit expensive. This is definitely a sipping beer, because I would hate to see the look on your face if you chugged this. (4/21/2000)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Aecht Schlenkerla Rauchbier Weizen

Brauerei Heller Bamberg

Steve: This was, pure and simply, God-awful. If you want to know what this tastes like, pour half a liter of beer through a colander of barbeque that you've been smoking for a week. I recall the Maerzen tasting pretty good, but the Weizen was just horrendous. I don't what it was, unless smoked wheat malt takes a much more dramatic turn for the worse than smoked barley malt. It's not every day that I pour a German beer down the sink, but alas, that was the ultimate fate of about half of this concoction. (5/29/2004)
full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Altenmünster Premium

Franz Josef Sailer Privatbrauerei

Steve: This was pure swill. It had one advantage: the Grolsch-type cork on the bottle. Perfect for bottling if you're a homebrewer, I bet. The downside to this beer: It tasted like rubber. Dirty rubber. Like a football mouthpiece....that wasn't my own (not that I would know that taste!). No other way to say it, except this was just pure awful! Bottle proclaimed it to be malt liquor, which for an import means it's over a certain alcohol % (5, I think).
full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Aventinus Weizen Eisbock

Privatbrauerei G.Schneider & Sohn

Steve: Holy crap, this is like the richest chocolate cake you'll ever have, but in liquid form. Very sweet, with a deep, rich flavor that almost sends you into a diabetic shock. Wow. It's a wheat doppelbock, which doesn't get much better, and it's definitely a sippin', middle-of-winter kind of beer. Almost makes me wish Atlanta had 6 month winters like Wisconsin, instead of those few weeks of cold weather between New Years and Groundhog's Day. It's made stronger by freezing and removing the ice, giving you a more concentrated kick, and possibly an inability to get out of bed the next morning. I think I need to get more of this. (4/16/2005)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Aventinus Wheat Doppelbock

Privatbrauerei G.Schneider & Sohn

Steve: The autumn season has begun. 2004 is winding down, it's a chilly day, and the Razorbacks just got punched in the mouth by Auburn. I need something potent. Ahh, Aventinus. A half liter of a warming doppelbock. Yup, that'll do. Mmm, now I feel better. I'm enjoying the first fire of the season, watching the season finale of Rescue Me, and a full stomach from Kennesaw's food festival and a dinner that included home-made bread using an oatmeal stout. And Aventinus. I had this years ago, but obviously didn't appreciate it for its healing powers. I give it the same rating, but now I know why it deserves that rating. (12/11/2004)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Ayinger Bräu-Weisse Hefe-weize

Brauerei Ayinger

Steve: All hefe-weizen should be a total sensory experience (or as much as you can get with a beer). Noticeable taste, smell, and look in the glass. I guess you could pour it on yourself to get the feel of it, but that would be weird. Anyway, this was no exception. When I poured it into a glass, I sat there and smelled it for about a minute, like you would with brandy. Hefe's have a distinctive smell, like lemon furniture polish, that in the right setting is awesome. The taste was right on as well, with that same lemoney, yeast background. Overall, a perfect beer for a warm summer night, as well as the one I chose for my 30th birthday. I will have to remember this when I'm in the mood for a hefe-weize. (12/14/2002)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Ayinger Jahrhundert-Bier

Brauerei Ayinger

Steve: Jahrhundert is German for century. Not sure if this beer is a celebration of the new century (and millenium) or if the brauerei has been around for that long (for the record, the label doesn't say). Only mentioning this cause I don't have much else to write about. This is a basic German lager, pretty much a staple beer, not for special occasions or anything. It was almost boring. Good, and I would have it again (I'd even pay for it), but boring. Maybe I wasn't in the mood. If you've had most other German import light lagers, you've had this, I guess. (12/9/2002)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

There are more reviews for this beer. Click here to read them all.
Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Ayinger Ur-Weisse, Dark Hefe-Weizen

Brauerei Ayinger

Steve: This entered my mouth with a very nice, creamy wheat taste, but it swallowed bland. No aftertaste, but I wish there was something. Ok, but not great.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Bavarian-Weissbier Hefeweisse

Privatbrauerei Höss

Steve: My face is all tingly as I write this, but not out of lusty pleasure for this beer. Rather, I just killed a glass of La Trappe Tripel, and shortly after I killed this one, a fine half-liter of wheat beer goodness. Not drunk, but not willing/able to drive. Now, I usually grade hefeweizen by a benchmark pre-set by others, and I will do so here. Not as good as Paulaner, but I think this is the best "micro-brewed" German hefe that I've had. Certainly better than anything the US has cranked out. And it comes in a neat flip-top bottle. I think I'll go to bed now, seeing as how it's past midnight and I just turned 32. (2/5/2005)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Becks

Beck and Co Brauerei

Steve: The most imported German beer, often blasted for being an "export" only. In reality, it does happen to be the most popular beer in Germany among the younger crowd, mostly because it's cheaper than most. It's like our Miller: Cheap, crisp, no aftertaste, although it can be a bit skunky due to transit. Beats any domestic any time. Also, for an import, fairly inexpensive.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Beck's Dark

Beck and Co Brauerei

Kris: Picture this: Budweiser woman and Beck's Dark woman are both walking down the street. Budweiser is an unwashed skanky ho bitch that every college freshman has had. Beck's Dark is a refined woman of taste that is enjoyed by the older crowd who understand the difference between whores and prostitutes. Pros: Miss Bud has her id, so she can prove her born on date. Beck's Dark is delicious. Cons: Miss Bud is a skanky ho bitch. Beck's Dark isn't. End of story. (ok, so it wasn't exactly like that, but I think you know where I was going. Beck's Dark = Mmm mmm good.) (8/23/1999)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Beck's Oktoberfest

Beck and Co Brauerei

Steve: This was good, but tasted alarmingly like regular Becks. A fest bier is usually a bit hoppier, maltier, thicker, etc. This tasted like a basic lager. A decent beer, but not for its professed style. I find it hard to believe that this has been sitting in kegs underground since it was brewed in March, as most Oktoberfests go. But, in all honesty, mega-brews (German or American) tend to grab onto these novelties as an excuse for more money through seasonal marketing. From experience, with few exceptions, this one was less offensive than its American competition. The extra few cents means big bucks for the company, unless you bought it on sale like I did. (11/23/1999)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Berliner Kindl Weisse

Berliner Kindl Brauerei AG

Steve: Rumor has it, this is one of the most purely refreshing beers in the world. It's also one of the most popular mass-brewed beers coming out of Germany. Unfortunately, most of you will be turned off by the extremely sour taste. Unfortunately, I'm one of those people. I've read that a lot of Berliners put fruit syrup into the beer to balance out the sour flavor to create a truly refreshing brew. Well, that's cool, I've got 3 left and I think I've got all the time in the world to find such syrup. Good thing this comes in small 11.2 oz (33 cL) bottles, they don't take up too much room. The bottles look like the little stubbies that Elsinor came in. And if you have to ask what Elsinor is, go finish your Bud. (12/31/2004)
full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Bitburger

Privatbrauerei Th Simon

Steve: A basic pils, this is a mass made beer in Germany, but pretty good, better than Beck's. Like most well-brewed pilsners, this has a nice crisp flavor with no aftertaste. It's good for just drinking; it doesn't need a meal to complement it. Comes in 12oz bottles and a 5L mini-keg.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Bürgerbräu Wolnzacher Hell

Burgerbrau AG

Steve: Not a bad lager. However, it kind of had that Moosehead flavor going for it, a bit skunky, with quite a bite to it. Not an alcoholic bite, but that skunk kind of bite. It was quite drinkable, however, and it had a nice malty taste to it, which I enjoy, so I was able to look past the other aspects. And, since it came in a half liter with 5.1% ABV, by the end of it I didn't much care. (9/27/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Bürgerbräu Wolnzacher Roggenbier

Burgerbrau AG

Steve: This is brewed in Wolnzach, home of Germany's Hops Museum (I threaten my daughter that if she's not good, I'll take her there). Unlike your average beer, this is brewed predominantly with rye malt, not barley malt or wheat malt that most of us are used to in German beers. This is very much unfiltered and unpasteurized, evidenced by the solid floating masses of what I assume were pieces of rye (yeast is not usually that big). They almost looked like the wet pieces of lint you find in your washer. Its texture reminded me a lot of a Weiss, but not as good as the better brands that I've had. I usually like rye ales, but I wasn't too fond of this. Then again, since it's unpasteurized, it could've been an old, bad sample. (6/5/2004)
full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Celebrator Dopplebock

Brauerei Ayinger

Rocky: I think when the BJCP wrote the style guidelines for dopplebock it may have been after having one of these. Either that, or they just nailed it. Amazing brew. Rich and malty, strong aroma, thick & fluffy head and tons of wonderful flavor. I didn't think I'd ever give out a 10, but this one cannot be improved upon. Treat yourself to this if given the chance. (3/6/2004)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif

There are more reviews for this beer. Click here to read them all.
Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Clausthaler

Binding Brauerei

Guest Review - Chris J: Brewed by the same German Purity Law as it's alcoholic cousins, this beer does not dissapoint. Crisp, clean and bitter, quite refreshing! The highest price of any N/A beer, but well worth it!
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

DAB

Dortmunder Actien Brauerei

Steve: This is a pils that is high in flavor and has a nice color. A German staple. Available in a 5 liter mini-keg for about $13. Can't beat that with a stick.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

DAB Traditional

Dortmunder Actien Brauerei

Steve: This is the dark line of DAB beers. It is malty, smooth, sweet, and a taste that is almost smoky, maybe like a grilled flavor. This beer is probably the best "dark" beer I've ever had. This beats the hell out of Mich. dark, that's for sure. This is a real man's red meat and grilled pork beer.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Dinkel Acker

Dinkelacker Brauerei AG

Steve: Highly visible German import. Fresh, not skunky. Like many German imports, the flavor is light & crisp. It has a nice "twang" to it. Not the best German pils, but a good place to start if you want to try the flavor. The funny name throws people off.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Dinkel Acker Dark

Dinkelacker Brauerei AG

Steve: This is definitely a man's beer. It comes in a green bottle, but it has the Sam Smith's Oatmeal Stout affect...bottle looks completely black until you turn it on the side and see the glass color through the air bubble. Anyway, my wife likened it to motor oil, which is always a plus for dark beers. This went down smooth...this would be the beer drinker's Southern Comfort, I think. One drawback...because I live in Atlanta, September isn't the ideal time for sampling this beer (too warm). Somewhere between Halloween and Thanksgiving would be more ideal. (11/9/1999)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Dinkel Acker Oktoberfest

Dinkelacker Brauerei AG

Steve: Slightly better than Dinkel Acker Pils, but not by a great margin. Judging by the old flavor, it didn't travel too well from Stuttgart. If I could guarantee freshness, I'd recommend this to anyone.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Doppel-Hirsch Bavarian Doppelbock

Privatbrauerei Höss

Steve: A deer hunter's dream, the label has two 12-point bucks charging into each other, and it has a nice warming 7.2 ABV, perfect for the chilly hunting season (disregard the fact that the average hunter is out there lubricating himself with Bud Light or Natural Light). This is my first double bock of the fall season, 1 day before the start of Oktoberfest, on the first day of the year when the AC goes off and the windows get opened (which will stay that way until late October.....I love Atlanta). It has a nice roasted toffee-like taste, and fairly bold and rich. Although, I think I'd still lean towards my usual favorites of Salvator or Celebrator. (4/2/2005)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Einbecker Mai-Ur-Bock

Einbecker Brauhaus AG

Steve: There aren't a lot of Maibocks available in the US. I think I've seen more domestic microbrewed versions than imported. Come to think of it, this might be the first imported version I've seen, and I bought it in SW Missouri of all places, while attending Kris' wedding (well, not WHILE at the wedding, just there at the same weekend....his wife would've killed me had I gone on a beer run DURING the wedding. I think. No, wait, yeah, she would've killed me). 6.5% ABV, with a nice malty flavor, this was worth the trip (to the liquor store, I mean....just being there for the wedding was already worth the trip, of course, but the liquor store was all the way up in Missouri....one whole town away). (12/9/2006)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

EKU Pils

Erste Kulmbacher Actienbrauerei AG

Steve: One of the more well-known German pilsner-style lagers, from the proud German brewing city of Kulmbach, with a picture of a beautiful medieval fortress on the label. There, that was the good aspects of this beer. On the downside, this is the mega-brew division of this brewery, and mega-brews never really work out, especially when shipping across the Atlantic. It had a funny taste to it that I can attribute to the hops, but Kris doesn't want me to dig into that too much because it makes for boring reviews. (2/21/2004)
full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Engel Gold

Crailsheimer Engel-Bräu

Steve: This was quite a novelty bottle....it had a screwtop, a feature usually only found on malt liquor 40's and cheap wine. However, don't let that throw you. This is a crisp, clean German lager that, like all other such beers, is thirst quenching and enjoyable, unlike their counterparts from the US. (8/30/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

There are more reviews for this beer. Click here to read them all.
Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Erdinger Pikantus Dunkler Weizenbock

Erdinger Weissbräu

Steve: Yeah, this was dunkler (darker) alright... Tasted like a Welsh ale, with fruit, toffee, caramel, and just about everything else they could think of thrown in. Plus, a heavy wheat mixture. A definite winter beer. This may be difficult to get used to, considering the assault-and-battery of the plethora of tastes, which I didn't care for.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

There are more reviews for this beer. Click here to read them all.
Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Erdinger Weißbier Dunkel

Erdinger Weissbräu

Steve: I'm going to be real honest with you (because I've clearly been lying to you about all the other beers). I'm not too sure how this tasted. I had this on Monday, June 9, 2003, the night the Devils won their 3rd Stanley Cup. I had to pick out a beer from my stock, saw this, and thought, "yeah, this looks like a championship beer." And I was right, dammit. I can say it's a nice, smooth weißbier, rich flavor, but that's about it. I nursed it, enjoyed it, and when the game had about a minute left and the Devils were up 3-0, and I had about an inch left in the glass, I toasted my friends Kris and John long distance (guys, I would've given anything to have been there with you). Drink this beer and your team will win a championship. That's all I can say. And if you take my advice and they don't win, then sorry, I guess your team sucks. Maybe you should become a Devils fan. (6/14/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

There are more reviews for this beer. Click here to read them all.
Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Ettaler Curator Dunkler Doppelbock

Ettaler Klosterbrauerei

Steve: This is probably the least-known German Doppelbock wich you are likely to see in your retailer. I've never seen it myself until recently. It certainly has the Doppelbock alcohol level, at 9%, but it was almost undetectable. I didn't get a nice alcoholic throat-burn that I normally get, and I didn't really feel it that much. And the malt sweetness was kind of overpowered by a kind of metallic flavor in the background, which I wasn't thrilled with. Not rusty drain pipe metallic, but there was something of metal origin in the flavor. Who knows, maybe it was stored upside down before hitting the shelf. Not the worst Doppelbock, but I imagine if given the choice, you might want to skip over this and look for Salvator or Celebrator. (7/19/2009)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Fiedler's Pils im Stein

Fiedler Gmbh

Steve: The name means Pils in a stone bottle. I bought this months ago, and just now tried it...excellent! The bottle kept out the foul elements that break down beer (and we all know how bad pilsners get when degenerated...usually they have a Bud label slapped on). Like all pilsners, nothing to write home about, just a basic, all season, quality beer that quenches the thirst and hits that nerve. Plus, bottle is great for homebrewing, as it has that Grolsch-style stopper.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Frankenheim Alt

Privatbrauerei Frankenheim

Steve: As an Alt (top-fermented hybrid beer), this is one of the rarer German styles found in the US. The best taste comparison would be to a brown ale. This one, however, had a much richer flavor than the couple of others that I've had. It had a sugary flavor to it, making it very rich, kind of like those chocolate cakes that are almost too rich to finish in one shot. Nice malty characteristic, which always suits me. Overall, a nice experience, so good thing I bought this in a six pack so that I can grow to enjoy it more. (9/13/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Franziskaner Club-Weisse

Spaten-Brau

Steve: I have to say, this was awful by German standards. This may as well have had Bud label on it. It was a very crisp, clean beer, almost too clean. Quite flavorless, pretty watery, no aftertaste whatsoever. Very undistinguished. God help you if you let this get warm (I'd recommend drinking it VERY cold), because it tastes like warm Bud, and you may as well pour that down the drain. Not a bad tasting beer, but not something you try if you want your taste buds challenged. I think this is more for export to the Americas, because I can't see Europeans falling for this. (8/9/2002)
full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Franziskaner Hefe-Weiss

Spaten-Brau

Steve: Honestly, this is probably just as good as Paulaner. However, I've always stuck with Paulaner as a sentimental choice. Thankfully, unlike the unwritten Nascar rule where you have to pick Ford or Chevy, but not both, I am perfectly within my rights to enjoy both Franziskaner AND Paulaner, so every now and then I pick up some Franziskaner. If you want a good German hefe-weiss, then this is one of the few you will want to try. It has that lemon flavor, the unfiltered cloudiness that I love, and a wonderful yeast aroma. (4/24/2004)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Gaffel Kölsch

Privatbrauerei Gaffel Becker & Co

Steve: Gaffel is getting a high rating not because it's better than over 70% of the beers out there, but because it's such a wonderful beer to its style. Kölsch beers are so rare in this country, because a true Kölsch is brewed only in the city of Köln, Germany. It has a nice hoppy background, not too much, but noticeable, yet the malt also shines through. If I were to categorize this anywhere, I'd say it's a fantastic summer beer. Too expensive to be a lawnmower beer, but this might be the one you want to drink at the end of a hot summer weekend day, out on the back deck, watching the bats eating the mosquitos by the thousands. (10/18/2008)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Georg Schneider's Wiesen Edel-Weisse Hefe-Weizen

Privatbrauerei G.Schneider & Sohn

Steve: This might almost have a longer name than review. This is an old recipe, first brewed by Georg Schneider I (they are now on G.S. VI), for their annual Oktoberfest submission. This is a pretty good hefe-weizen. Nicely effervescent, flavorful, yeasty, all the things I love about this style. When readers write to us making fun of our taste for "fancy beers," it is this type of beer they speak against. Those people, for the record, are pansies. I recommend this to anyone who likes this style. Not my favorite, but I love the style as a whole, so it's like loving a NASCAR race, regardless who wins, just because you love racing. (4/4/2000)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

There are more reviews for this beer. Click here to read them all.
Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Gerstel N/A

Henninger Brauerei

Sam: Never thought I'd be reviewing a near-beer. After disastrous encounters with O'Douls, Sharps, and Cutter, I pretty much had sworn off the stuff. But this burnt fool's fingers wobble slowly back to the fire as I pick up one of my wife's Gerstels. Hello--quite lovely golden yellow color, malty aroma. Surprisingly delicious, even if lacking the pleasing alcohol bite. Folks, there may be the rare time in your beer-drinking careers when you really want one, but know better than to risk the alcohol. If you still want the beer taste--and this time, I'm serious, TASTE--pick up a six-pack of Gerstel. This is worth having in your beer fridge. (12/18/2004)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Gilde Pilsner

Gilde Brauerei Hannover

Steve: OK, maybe there is something to the whole "green bottle theory" Hannover is not exactly across town. It was a little sour, a bit bitter (but that could be from being well hopped for preservation in exporting). And yes, it was a might skunky. Not as well preserved as Becks, I think. This is one of those beers that probably tastes pretty good at the source, but New Jersey is not the source (although the importer is located there), so maybe wait until you visit Das Vaterland, unless you are a true German beer fanatic. (8/13/1998)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Gose Original Leipziger Bier

Gasthaus & Gosebrauerei Bayerischer Bahnhof

Steve: You can tell that this is brewed in the former East Germany, because their beer labels tend to be very plain, and not at all eye-catching. This one features an unpleasant-looking man wiping beer foam off of his mustache. Yuck. Also, the health warning is right there on the front, instead of hidden around back where pregnant (or soon to be pregnant) American teens rarely look. According to the label this is 4.6% ABV (so it's not rocket fuel) and is brewed with coriander and salt, of which I could taste neither, and it is bottle-conditioned, which I could tell a little. Overall, not bad, but a better summer beer. Very light flavored, easy to drink. (6/5/2004)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Hacker-Pschorr Weisse

Paulaner-Salvator-Thomasbräu Brewery

Steve: Very creamy for a weissbier... Very pleased. Comes in a 1/2L bottle. This is a lot easier than most. Another good place to start if you want to try this style.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Hacker-Pschorr Dunkel Weisse

Paulaner-Salvator-Thomasbräu Brewery

Steve: This is a thick, malty, sweet dark weiss beer, a little lighter than a double bock. This washed red meat and pork down great, trust me. I enjoyed this a hell of a lot more than the regular H-P weiss. This is probably the typical German beer that everyone thinks of.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Hacker-Pschorr Oktoberfest

Paulaner-Salvator-Thomasbräu Brewery

Steve: Nice and malty, like most Oktoberfests, but typical of the ones imported into this country, not the strongest around. Good balance, not too bitter. Basically like a strong pils, but afterall, that's what a fest beer is. Cute chick on the label - another plus.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Herrnbräu Kristall-weizen

Herrnbräu

Steve: True to style, tasty, crisp, and would go with just about anything (or drinkable on its own). Unfortunately, few can afford to drink at this price. This is a pretty typical German Weizen, so if you're looking for something reliable but cheap, I'd recommend going for something else because this won't knock your socks off. It's good, but it's like comparing the Toyota Camry with the Saturn L300. The Saturn has as good an engine, as big a passenger and cargo area, and looks as good, if not better, so why not buy it (and for the record, I've driven both and own the Saturn, so if you want to debate that argument, don't bother). Sorry, not a great review, but I've had this beer before but with other breweries' labels on it. Maybe it's better in Germany, since they always water their best stuff down before sending it over (so do those f'n Canadians). (4/27/2002)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Hofbrau Maibock

Hofbräuhaus München

Sam: I could not BELIEVE my good fortune at finding this beer. We were down in San Antone having a weekend frolic, and stopped in the local grocery to beer up, when I blundered into this little gem. I stuck it into a dark corner of the van (green bottle), and began to yearn for our vacation to end so I could try it at home. Got home, got it chilled to a favorable temperature, poured it up, and admired the handsome color and savored the delicious malty aroma. Now more than once, friends, I have been let down by a beer that others rave about. Anticipation has led to crushing disappointment. Not so this time; this is deliciously malty, a little sweet but not annoyingly so, and pleasantly hopped. A real winner. I'm now jealously guarding and parceling out the remaining four bottles. If you see it on the shelf next year, I highly recommend trying it. (12/22/2007)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Hofbräu Original

Hofbräuhaus München

Steve: Hofbräu Original is brewed by one of the breweries that practically defines Oktoberfest in München. Their beer tent is by far one of the more famous, and their logo, a simple HB with a crown over it is one of the more recognized symbols of German brewing, so this is a beer you simply cannot pass up. While Becks, DAB and Bitburger are more common over here in the US, it's Hofbräu that preserves the good name of German beers. It has a nice malty flavor, with a definite taste of hops. Although it's no stronger then American lagers, this is the type of beer that makes many Americans think that German beers are a lot stronger. That little extra is simple....in English, it's called "flavor." (9/23/2006)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Jubel

Franz Josef Sailer Privatbrauerei

Steve: The thing I'll remember most about this beer is the neat bottle, one I've never seen before. It's jug-like, with a flip-top cap (which must be a Sailer thing, since Altenmünster also has one) and holds an even pint. The beer itself, while I first thought it was an Alt, is actually a Märzen (Oktoberfest). It has a deep amber color, and an extremely sweet, malty flavor. Almost too sweet, actually. Overall not a bad beer, and was actually a nice choice for an evening of relaxing in front of the TV watching North to Alaska, a John Wayne flick filled with LOTS of beer (a Weiss would've been a better choice though). (12/3/2005)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Julius Echter Hefe-Weiss Dunkel

Würzburger Hofbräu

Steve: MUCH better than the lighter version. This is a hefe-weiss that I could sink my teeth into. Nice and malty, smooth flavor, no hoppiness, and that dark malty strength that really went nicely with a Friday evening. Good way to finish a week. It was so good, I got drunk on Miller Lite's at the neighbor's house after drinking this, and still remembered how it tasted. (11/15/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Julius Echter Hefe-Weiss Premium

Würzburger Hofbräu

Steve: Named for the founder of the University of Würzburg, I think this beer would've been improved had it had a picture of a serving wench like St Pauli Girl, instead of old Julius. Actually, not all that bad. Hefe-weiss is my favorite style of beer, and this is probably my least-favorite example. Sure, it had the usual cloudy yellow color that I like, a nice yeasty smell, but I got tired of it. Hard to put a finger on why. (11/1/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

There are more reviews for this beer. Click here to read them all.
Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Keller Bier

St. Georgen Bräu

Steve: I can sum this pilsner up with one word: undistinguishable. That doesn't mean it wasn't good...actually, I think it was quite drinkeable. However, it was absolutely unremarkable. Five minutes after I finished it, I had pretty much forgotten any characteristics. So, my review of this beer is actually not a review at all. Go ahead and drink it, just don't expect bells and whistles. Of course, for the price, you may want to avoid it altogether, seeing as how you wouldn't want to pay $20K for a Ford Escort either, would you? (6/1/1999)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

König Ludwig Weiss

König Ludwig Schlossbrauerei

Steve: A good Bavarian hefe-weizen, although my wife tried to spook me by saying that it looks like urine from someone with a bladder infection. However, the joke's on her because most hefes look like this beer, so I guess they all look like that. This is my favorite style, so it's hard to freak me out over these beauties. This fit the bill of the good ones....malty, kind of creamy, wonderful yeast smell to it. Plus, it came in a kick-ass cardboard box that had a picture of King (Mad) Ludwig's castle on it, probably the most beautiful piece of architecture in the world. If I was a college student with money, I'd keep a steady supply of this stuff and wallpaper the room with the packages. Sadly, however, I'm just a suburban husband and father who must live with my wife's decorating decisions. (12/28/2002)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Köstritzer Oktoberfest

Köstritzer Schwarzbierbrauerei

Steve: My first Oktoberfest of the 2004 season, and if this is the worst one I have, then it'll be a very good Oktoberfest indeed. For those of you used to starting Oktoberfest off with a Spaten (like, for example, most of München), you might find this a bit smoother, and a lot more drinkable if you've had limited experience with Festbiers. It's less amber-colored than most, a lot closer in color to a standard lager, but it still has that malty texture, and it goes down oh so well. I can think of worse ways to wind down the last quarter of 2004. Prost! (10/23/2004)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Köstritzer Schwarzbier

Köstritzer Schwarzbierbrauerei

Steve: This is a very thick lager. Good, but it caught me off guard, as it strongly resembled a stout, although it was more like a lot of double bocks. Schwarz is German for "Black" (Black beer), and that's an example of truth in advertising. It is indeed black, so if your normal beer staple is brewed by Busch, Miller or Coors, you will not like this beer. However, you can definitely use this as a jumping point if you want to venture into trying porters and stouts. (4/14/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Kulmbacher Pils

Erste Kulmbacher Actienbrauerei AG

Steve: This is a fairly decent pils from Bavaria. Better than Beck's or the like, I'd have to say. Typical pils flavor... light on the body, very fizzy, golden color, thirst quenching. The one drawback was the fat ugly monk on the label holding a steinkrug of this beer... unappetizing.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Kulmbacher Weisse

Erste Kulmbacher Actienbrauerei AG

Steve: This is a pretty good weiss bier, with a nice sweet, wheaty taste. This is along the same lines as Hacker-Pschorr, they taste pretty similiar. The aftertaste is great, and the alcohol content will satisfy you lushes out there.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Leikeim Bavarian X-Winter

Brauerei Leikeim

Steve: Unlike a lot of seasonal winter beers, this one doesn't have an explosion of flavor that includes spices and such. Instead, it was cool, refreshing, and malty. Maybe if you actually spent the day on the slopes working up a thirst instead of sitting on your ass in front of a fire, this would be the right beer. I liked it. Reminded me of the pilsner, easily as good. I look forward to trying the rest of Leikeim's product line. (7/27/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

There are more reviews for this beer. Click here to read them all.
Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Leikeim Premium Bavarian Pilsner

Brauerei Leikeim

Steve: Most of you will find some similarities to the larger German imports, like Becks, which is good because this is in the same style. This is a pale lager with a dry, malty taste and a hint of a hoppy finish (at the risk of sounding like my gay beer calendar, more like a "whisper") that fades quickly with little aftertaste. This style doesn't jump out and grab you like some, but you will appreciate this in the warmer months. This comes in a neat Bugelflaschen (flip-top bottle, like Grolsch). Currently available in the metro-Philly area, soon to be available in NJ, DE and MD. Thanks to our new friends at Reinheit Importers LLC for the sample. (7/27/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Leikeim Schwarzbier

Brauerei Leikeim

Steve: A tasty, rich deep-flavored beer, this was quite enjoyable. In my opinion, not nearly enough of this type are available in the US. Germans excel at brewing dark beers that don't make you cringe, like Guinness when I first tried it. This is available in limited areas right now, but when you see it come to your market, you better grab it. (8/9/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

There are more reviews for this beer. Click here to read them all.
Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Löwenbräu Premium Lager

Labatt Breweries

Steve: This is another Cana-lager; A German beer (normally brewed in Munich) brewed in Canada under license (since Labatt's imports it to the US, I'll go out on a limb and suggest they brew it, which isn't a bad thing). Löwenbräu is always one of my sentimental favorites since it was one of the first beers I started drinking in college, but it is a decent beer. It's crisp, clean, no foul aftertaste, just a basic lager. This beer won't disappoint you too much if you're in the mood for something basic, unless you are offended at the thought of paying more than $12.99 for a case of beer (like Bud). (4/7/2001)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Mahr's Christmas Bock

Bamberger Mahr's-Bräu Gebr. Michel

Steve: I wasn't that thrilled with this. It was quite hoppy for a bock, whereas I prefer something malty, sweet, and full of fiery warmth. Wait, that's redundant. Full of fire. No. Full of warmth. Yeah, that's better. Warmth. Anyway, this wasn't full of warmth. (11/3/2007)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Mahr's Der Weisse Bock

Bamberger Mahr's-Bräu Gebr. Michel

Steve: A tasty wheat bock, the thing that will have you talking most about this one is the hairy goat on the label that appears to be desperately trying to drink this wheat bock. And I guess it'll really only have you talking about it if you've had 3 or 5. Kind of like the monk peeing on the can of Old Style. If you aren't drunk, it's not funny. Same thing with the goat. Drunk=funny. Sober=a goat trying to drink a beer. I'm sober, but I also have a stupid sense of humor (on that note, rent Garden State, you'll laugh your ass off). Ergo....funny. (7/9/2005)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Mahr's Weisse

Bamberger Mahr's-Bräu Gebr. Michel

Steve: You know what I absolutely love about a real German Weisse? Even the mediocre ones are great. I mean it. Some things, with the occasional Umlaut here, a 3-pointed star there, a fat monk holding a Steinkrug of beer with the head overflowing, just can't be beat. I got to thinking that this was hardly the best Weissbier that I've ever had, but then I got to thinking how much better then some of the dreck brewed here in the US, and I didn't feel so bad. Sure, there are issues of not shaving legs, wearing stripes with plaids, and occasionally marching an army division through Paris or Warsaw. But their Weissbiers just kick ass. (10/1/2005)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Maisel's Weisse

Brauerei Gebrüder Maisel

Steve: A not-so-heavy wheat beer, lighter than most in its class. Flavor was a factor above all else, with a veritable plethora of different tastes.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Maisel's Weisse Hefe-Weizen

Brauerei Gebrüder Maisel

Steve: Smoother than most hefes, but not as sweet, and without the flavor explosion common to hefe-weizens. Pretty good overall. If you like this style, you'll like this beer. It's even good warm.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Moosbacher Schwarze Weisse

Private Landbrauerei Scheuerer

Steve: I loooove me some good dark wheat beers, if you find a good one, marry it or something. Unfortunately, this was not one of the ones I'm likely to rave about. I wonder if that's why it was a flip-cap, to generate enough novelty interest. It had a little taste of smokey wheat, but otherwise it was kind of on the bland side. I wanted something rich and powerful, but it was almost flat. I bet I got a flat bottle, I'll try it again. I can't believe this beer is always this disappointing. (7/6/2008)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Neuschwansteiner Bavarian Lager

Privatbrauerei Höss

Steve: I know for accuracy, Kris is going to check the spelling on this beer, and he can go right ahead. I'll give him $100, though, if he can pronounce it correctly (Ed. note: Why on earth would I care to? -Kris), without getting help from anyone. Great label, beautiful picture of Schloss Neuschwanstein (is there a bad picture of this castle?) and two swans (Schwäne). Mad Ludwig would be proud. It makes me want to get on the next plane and fly to Bavaria. Although, when I get there, I might try something other than this beer. It wasn't bad, but I think I was expecting a lot more. Little hop presence, fairly clean drinking, and it's good for a summer's day, but I think I was hoping for something more German, more powerful. Like the castle. Instead I got something pretty and delicate, but not threatening, like the swans. (3/5/2005)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Neuzeller Kloster-Bräu Golden Abbot Lager

Klosterbrauerei Neuzelle GmbH

Steve: This was a lighter lager, much more so than it's cousin (the one that monks and other such whackjobs bathe in). This poured a bit flat, so don't expect too much effervescence. However, it was tastier than I expected it to be, as most flat beers taste flat as well. It had a pretty malty presence in the mouth, always good in a lager. This is one of those beers that you wish you could try it closer to the source. Not outstanding, but it has potential. (10/5/2002)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Nikolausbier Altfränkisches Dunkel

Burgerbrau AG

Steve: Interesting dunkel with a fairly high alcohol level at 5.5%, and with a half liter bottle, this will warm you up nicely. I'ts OK for summer, but not the best choice; more of a mid-Autumn, early Spring choice. It had a nice roasted malt texture that is fine for this time of year. One trait that stands out is the heavy alcoholic, rum-like taste on the back of my throat. I've never been wild about that kind of taste, but it was a decent dunkel. (11/22/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Oberdorfer Dunkel

Privatbrauerei Franz Joseph Sailer

Steve: This is one of those 1/2L bottles with the rubber cork on top, like Grolsch. Not too bad. This had a slight woody flavor to it, typical for the dark beers, and was a little effervescent too, which is unusual for this style. Not too bad, but went for $9 at the bar, so thank goodness for my expense account (was taking a customer out at the time; highly recommended when you're in the mood to experiment with beer). Overall, pretty good but for God's sake try to find it cheaper. (7/21/2001)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Original Bathbeer

Klosterbrauerei Neuzelle GmbH

Steve: This is a beer from the Brandenburg region of Germany, near Berlin in the former DDR, so this would be new to most Americans. The bottle doesn't say, but I believe it's a double bock. If you were to ask me for a comparison, a lot harder than Salvator, somewhere around the consistency of Spaten Optimator. Extremely thick. If you like Guiness and other such stouts, I believe you will like this. Nice website, but it's not yet in English (Russian is still the dominant foreign language in eastern Germany). This beer doesn't appear to on their site, so it's clearly marketed for export, but if you were to look there, I believe it would be the Matzbier, just based on color and description. The flavoring was woody, smokey, and coffee-like. A relaxing beer that would have been undrinkable to me 5 years ago but now I love. The label suggests, "Sip one while you take a bath, or like we do in Germany, add it directly to your bathwater." Dude, if you add this to your bathwater, you either do not care how you smell, or you are one hell of an alcoholic. I do, however, recommend pouring the contents of this half liter bottle down your throught. And for those who want to write and tell me that German monks do not bathe in beer, that's just what the label says. I'm not making this up this time. (1/21/2002)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Paulaner Bavarian Alpine Extreme

Paulaner-Salvator-Thomasbräu Brewery

Steve: Meant to be a "cool" beer, with a snowboarder wearing lederhosen on the label, this is substandard compared to other Paulaner products. It was kinda stale and funky (and in a brown bottle, so tell Bud that doesn't mean jack). Strong for a pils. It's mediocre and I wouldn't recommend it.
full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Paulaner Hefe-Weizen

Paulaner-Salvator-Thomasbräu Brewery

Steve: Hefe-weizen are my favorite beers. I can't say that this is the best, but over the years it became a sentimental favorite much like Killians did. It has a nice creamy texture, a sweet, malty flavor, and a nice yeasty aroma and a citrusy flavor to it, too. Often served in poseur restaurants with a lemon slice in it, but I usually go without. I learned to drink it from the bottle with my German cousins, so I got used to it that way (plus, they would've mocked me much like I mock the tools who drink Corona with lemon wedges). Plus, it has a fat monk on the label, and face it, you can't go wrong with that. While not a "light" beer, a 12 oz bottle has only 105 calories. So drink up and enjoy. I know I will! (10/11/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Paulaner Hefe-Weizen Dunkel

Paulaner-Salvator-Thomasbräu Brewery

Steve: This is a dark (dunkel) hefe-weizen. It is a lot richer and heavier than a regular (helles) hefe-weizen. The yeast isn't as dominating in this beer, but it is a bit maltier. This is a great pork and red meat beer. It's also a beer that will make Bud drinkers look like total pansies if they're standing next to you. Mind you, I believe that's why they drink Bud in the first place, because they are a bit sad. While I prefer the light version, this is, overall, well worth the effort. (11/23/1999)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

There are more reviews for this beer. Click here to read them all.
Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Paulaner Oktoberfest Märzen Amber

Paulaner-Salvator-Thomasbräu Brewery

Steve: Classic fest beer, this is a lot more flavorful than your typical lager. This is hoppy, malty, and smooth. This beer is named after the month of March, when it is traditionally brewed. It is then stored in cool caves throughout the summer, and finally finished off during Oktoberfest, when everything settled, and the alcohol content was higher. This beer fit that bill well. Besides, you can't go wrong with fat German women carrying 10 beers each on the label. (3/5/1999)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Paulaner Original Munich Lager

Paulaner-Salvator-Thomasbräu Brewery

Steve: Lagers are rarely special. However, one comes along every now and then to remind us that the lager is the perfect, all around beer. You can drink it anytime you want. Before, during, or after dinner. At a ball game or barbecue, at a fine dinner at a holiday, in front of a fire, in the hot sun. This is the standard bearer for those beers. Light, crisp, easy to drink, fresh tasting (brown bottle, Bud-snobs), and tasty. I chose Saturday in front of the college football games to drink this. Mind you, you're paying for the privilege, but it's worth it to have a good beer. Bud makes this style, but if theirs tasted this good, no one would drink Miller. (1/4/2000)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Paulaner Premium Pils

Paulaner-Salvator-Thomasbräu Brewery

Steve: I found this on a liquor store shelf in Fayetteville, Arkansas. Why I've never seen this in Atlanta or NJ I'll never know, but those two locations should be ashamed that they were beaten to the punch. Like most of Paulaner's labels, this is pretty good. This is their answer to Beck's, Heineken, Warsteiner, etc, except that this is better than those brands. Crisp, clean, smooth, which is exactly what a pilsner should be. (2/1/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Pinkus Organic Hefe-Weizen

Brauerei Pinkus Müller

Steve: Even Germany has hippies. Although, I was disappointed, especially after trying the hippie beers that Sam Smith's cranked out. It was pretty good for a hefe-weizen, but it didn't have that creamy drinkable head and bold smell that you notice from across the room like Paulaner and others (it was aromatic, but not as strong). Although, in all fairness, since "organic" means no preservatives, it is probably a lot better in Germany. I enjoyed this, but it was not my favorite hefe. It does have a nice 5.1 ABV, but that was about it. True to form, but there are better ones out there. (10/5/2002)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Pinkus Organic Münster Alt

Brauerei Pinkus Müller

Steve: Alt, German for Old, means that it's brewed in the Old way, meaning that it's with top-fermenting ale yeast strains (hence alts are ales, or are hybrid beers mixing ale yeast and lager fermentation temps). This is one of the few ales that you will find coming out of Das Vaterland. It has a flowery odor, typical of lighter ales, but it doesn't translate to taste. It is light tasting, good for summery weather, not hoppy at all. However, it has a nice ABV of 5.1%, so it packs a nice punch into a lighter, easy-going taste. (7/13/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Prostel Alkoholfrei

Kaiserdom-Privatbrauerei Bamberg

Sam: My wife indulged my occasional craving for German food, and we all went to Wurstmarkt recently. After our meal, we browsed the adjacent grocery. I picked up a few odds and ends I'd had before from their cooler, but noticed this new alcohol-free product and felt obliged to give it a try. Very nice. Very nice indeed. Malty and crisp, golden yellow but not too fizzy. There's no alcohol bite, which is disappointing as always with NAs, but it was still a very enjoyable beverage. If you must go alcohol-free, but you're really craving beer flavor, this will fit the bill nicely. (5/27/2006)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Pschorr-Bräu Weisse Dark

Paulaner-Salvator-Thomasbräu Brewery

Steve: A dark wheat beer, this is malty, sweet, full of yeast, and creamy. A step below a double-bock, strength wise, but should suffice for the crows that enjoys a darker beer. This is a perfect summer beer. I really enjoyed this one, but pour it correctly or you'll get all head and no beer.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Reissdorf Kölsch

Privatbrauerei Heinrich Reissdorf GMBH

Steve: Not to many Kölsches are available in the US, because to be a true Kölsch, a beer must be from the city of Köln (aka Cologne), so any in America will only be a Kölsch-style ale. Unfortunately, like many copycats, so many fall short, Americans aren't hooked on this style. Basically, it's a lot like a lager or light ale that most of you are used to, crisp in flavor, fairly smooth, and often with a hint of lemon in the background. Nothing strong on the senses, but an everyday drinking beer. You're certainly not going to be blown off your feet by the hop aroma like a pale ale, but not all beers go for that. If you see Reissdorf and want to try a real Kölsch, then grab it. I'm sure I will again in the future. (6/26/2004)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Rhinebecker Extra

Karlsberg Brauerei

Rocky: It's a sad day when even Germany is getting on the low carb bandwagon. As usual, low carb = low taste. Tastes watery and slightly metallic, feels thin. If you absolutely must drink low carb, this isn't any worse than the others, and may in fact be a bit better although that's not saying a lot. Instead, I'd suggest that you drink a real beer and take a walk. (7/17/2004)
full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Salvator Double Bock

Paulaner-Salvator-Thomasbräu Brewery

Steve: A little light flavored for a double bock. However, the taste is pretty good. Pretty smooth, with a color similiar to an IPA, and a comparable taste. I recommend this to people who want something heavier than a pils, but not so dark that it can be used for an all-season lubricant on your car.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Schneider Weisse

Privatbrauerei G.Schneider & Sohn

Steve: This is a pretty good hefe-weize, lighter cousin to Aventinus, already reviewed here. This had all the typical characteristics of such a beer, so if you like the style, you'll like this. Yeast, alcohol, fizzy, frothy head, low in calories.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Schwarzer Adler

Andreas Brau Gasthausbrauerei

Steve: My all-time favorite beer. A German microbrew, available only in Leonberg, Germany. Comes in Pils, Bock, and Doppelbock. Sweet, fresh, no preservatives, actually thirst quenching.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Schwelmer Hefeweizen

Privatbrauerei Schwelm

Steve: A mediocre Hefeweizen, certainly not one of my favorites. I have to say, I'm kind of unimpressed with beers that come in flip-top bottles such as this one. It's a neat-looking novelty, but so far, all the beers that use that bottle type are in desperate need of a novelty to sell their product. Schwelmer Hefe is no exception. It wasn't among the worst, but it was so lacking in the required wheat lemon flavor that it's mid-range only. Plus, it had a huge clump of sediment in it, much bigger then normal, indicating an infection. It wasn't bad, it didn't poison me, I was just underwhelmed. (7/23/2006)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Spaten München Dunkel

Spaten-Brau

Steve: Spaten makes a fairly decent Dunkel with a nice black color, a nice malty flavor, and a nice smokey touch in the background. If one is climbing the evolutionary ladder from light lagers, you would go to German imported lagers, and then usually this (or this was at least how I progressed). The alcohol wasn't overpowering, so you can enjoy the variety of flavors not found in a standard lager. (12/4/2010)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Spaten Oktoberfest

Spaten-Brau

Steve: I think that imported German Oktoberfest beers are basically cut from the same cloth, as this is hard to differentiate from some others I have tried. It's pretty good, with a nice malty flavor, beautiful copper color, and a fresh taste, despite the long trip. Comparable to Hacker-Pschorr's, if not a little better.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Spaten Optimator

Spaten-Brau

Steve: Extremely dark, caramely, sweet, and enough alcohol for even the biggest stud who tries to take this beer on. Tastes much like a porter, same coloration, chocolatey head, but the key to this beer is the fact that it is damn thick. Take your time enjoying this one. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys darks, but if you are experimenting, stay away until you worked your way up to it.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Spaten Pils

Spaten-Brau

Steve: This is listed as a malt liquor...which means, thanks to our Bible Belt laws, that while it is not a malt liquor, it does have a fair amount of alcohol. Plus, it comes in a .5L bottle, so it packs a kick. Mine tasted a little skunky, so maybe this isn't the beer for you. Unless you want to pay $6 to get completely wasted (that's how much 3 bottles would cost), and do it with Eurotrash style. (10/12/1999)
full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

There are more reviews for this beer. Click here to read them all.
Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

St. Pauli Girl

St. Pauli Brauerei

Steve: I can't complain about this too much, because I like to drink it and look at the fraulein on the label. However, it is a substandard import, below Becks in every way except the label. No aftertaste, thank god, because it is a little skunky. Not too fresh. St Pauli, by the way, is in one of the worst neighborhoods of Hamburg. Nice label, tho.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

St. Pauli Girl Dark

St. Pauli Brauerei

Sam: What a crock. This is St. Pauli Girl with brown food coloring. They also added the skunky European lager flavor to make glandular college boys think they're drinking something exotic (before you go accusing me of throwing stones in glass houses, let me point out someone left this in my beer fridge undrunk. Out of curiosity, and seeing it hadn't yet been reviewed, I tried one. One.). The buxom St. Pauli Girl is nice to look at, but let's face it: this is a tourist beer. In small print the label should say "P.S--don't tell the Americans how we're tricking them." (11/6/2004)
full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

St. Pauli N/A

St. Pauli Brauerei

Guest Review - Chris J: Even better than Kaliber! Less hoppy than Clausthaler, and slightly cheaper. Great beer for those who enjoy Beck's and Heineken (I admit I'm one of them). And of course, there's that attractive German girl on the label. (11/8/1998)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Thurn and Taxis Roggen

Fürstliche Brauerei Thurn u. Taxis

Steve: This is a lager, distinctive in that it was brewed with rye (Roggen), rather than the traditional ingredients. In fact, rye is not commonly used for the very reason behind the Reinheitsgebot: Rye was too valuable for bread, so barley was considered the "designated" grain used. Anyway, this gave it a unique, tasty flavor that I really enjoyed. Tastes similar to a weiss beer. (5/3/1999)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Tucher Bajuvator Doppelbock

Tucher Bräu

Steve: This could be my least favorite German Doppelbock that I've had to date. It wasn't *bad*. But it certainly wasn't *great*. The rich malt flavor evident in Salvator and Celebrator, and that nice alcoholic fire in the throat, simply wasn't there. At 7.2% abv, it might be a bit weaker than its competitors. Basically, it did nothing to sway me from Salvator and Celebrator. (4/15/2007)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Tucher Dunkles Hefeweizen

Tucher Bräu

Steve: This is a dark (Dunkles) hefe-weizen (yeast-wheat beer), which is a bit stronger than its light (helles) cousin. I like the dark better, but if its the yeasty, fruity flavor you prefer, stick to the light. Especially in this case. This had a stronger, maltier, wheat flavor, but not as strong on the yeast like Paulaner. Looks great in a bottle, if you are into that. If you need attention, this is sure to get it. Otherwise, sit back and drink this pretty good beer. Remember: this holds up well travelling over the Pond, so if you want to give a European beer a try but have some reservations, this is the one to start on. Also note...bottle says "Malt Liquor." Don't worry, it ain't. Merely a bible belt regulation (too high alc. %). (1/30/1999)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Tucher Helles Hefeweizen

Tucher Bräu

Steve: I had one main thought after drinking this beer. With beers like this out there, why would anyone reasonably want to drink anything remotely resembling Budweiser? I could see if it was a financial thing. No arguement there, this beer is more expensive. But taste? Let me digress here and ask most Bud drinkers this question: Say you had unlimited resources to drink whatever beer you wanted. Would you honestly, truly, still be drinking Bud? If you say yes, you're either crazy or lying (I'm being diplomatic here; Kris would say you're stupid or lying, I'm suggesting crazy as a better way to phrase it). Of course not, you'd be drinking something like Tucher. Anyway, this beer rocks. Gold in a bottle. Creamy head, smooth flavor, a nice hefe all around. However, this doesn't have the floaties that a lot of hefes tend to have, so if that creeps you out, you might want to try this one. Personally, I like Paulaner better, but nonetheless this was a truly good drinking experience. Can anyone say that about Bud? Sorry, haven't trashed Bud in a while, afraid I was losing my edge. (1/4/2002)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Uerige Sticke

Uerige Brauerei

Steve: An authentic Altbier from Dusseldorf, Uerige is by far the best I've had to date. It has a sweet, malty flavor, slightly caramel-like, colored like a Bock, and went well as an after-dinner beer. Uerige has by far the most unusual bottle I've seen on any beer. It has a stubby body, and the neck starts a lot lower then on most beers, and ends in a flip-cap. Although Germans are known for the lagers that inspired the larger American breweries, this is the style of beer that they drank for centuries before lagering, and it is delicious. (6/3/2006)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Veltins Pilsener

C. & A. Veltins

Steve: I regret to say that this wasn't the freshest sample I could have had. There was something a little off about it, so this will not be a fair review. It is a crisp, lightly hopped Pils, very light bodied, but it also had a skunky flavor to it, like it sat in a cargo hold for too long. This is one of the most popular brands in Germany, and 10's of millions of Germans can't be wrong, so I will endeavor to get a better sample, but until then it won't get high marks. (12/27/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Warsteiner

Warsteiner Brauerei Haus Cramer

Steve: It's funny how many German beers note that they are brewed according to the Reinheitsgebot of 1516. It's even funnier when you find one that doesn't state that fact. Does that mean that they are unpure? Well, Warsteiner does not advertise any such claim, but it is pretty good nonetheless. This is a bit better than Beck's, I would say, pretty refreshing, and smooth, like any lager. This is not exactly the best lager I've had, but it will do. Unfortunately, this may be cost-prohibitive, so you may want to stick with Becks or the like. (1/30/1999)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Warsteiner Dunkel

Warsteiner Brauerei Haus Cramer

Steve: I don't think Germany has produced this big of a disappointment since they lost the 1966 World Cup to England. Meinen Herren, a Dunkel is supposed to have a nice robust flavor from the roasted malts, providing almost a coffee-like flavor. At the very least they need to be rich and hearty. This is a poseur Dunkel. To put it in Heavy Metal terms, if the average German Dunkel was "Fade To Black," Warsteiner's was "Every Rose Has Its Thorn." This was like Warsteiner's lager with food coloring. It looked like a Dunkel, it's called a Dunkel, but calling this a Dunkel is like calling White Lion a metal band. (10/29/2005)
full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Warsteiner Premium "Fresh"

Warsteiner Brauerei Haus Cramer

Steve: This had a distint metallic taste to it. Do any of our readers know where that comes from? If it's a sign of deterioration, that's one thing. If it's bad quality, that's different. All I know is, this was a hard one to swallow, the half that I was able to drink. Then, my 10-month old daughter knocked the glass over and spilled the rest. I was more upset in the mess, than losing this beer. I wasn't too heartbroken about not being able to finish it. Maybe if it didn't taste like I licked a railing. (8/26/2001)
full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

There are more reviews for this beer. Click here to read them all.
Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Weihenstephaner Dunkel Hefeweissbier

Bayer, Staats-Brauerei

Steve: Literally, a dark version of the hefeweissbier. Pretty good, this has a thick, malty, wheaty taste. This is surprisingly good in warm weather, but drink it cold. The oldest brewery has had time to iron out the kinks.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

There are more reviews for this beer. Click here to read them all.
Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Weihenstephaner Festbier

Bayer, Staats-Brauerei

Steve: This beer is not for a novice. It comes in a .5L bottle, and is 5.8% alcohol by volume, so it packs a whollup. If you are new to stronger beers, and drink it all right away, you will notice the kick right away. It's a Festbier (as in Oktoberfest), meaning that this is the special reserves left over from the batches brewed earlier in the year, saved for the Oktoberfest shindigs; thus they are packed full of alcohol, maltiness and flavor. It's smooth enough that you can drink quite a few (thus being ideal for a "Fest," or festival), but be careful and know your limits. As I've mentioned in other reviews, this is brewed by the world's oldest brewery, and these guys have clearly perfected the craft. One of the better examples of the style that I have had. Well done indeed. Also, I put this down and forgot about it; when I went back for it, it still tasted fantastic...even as warm as it was (near room temp). (10/26/1999)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Weihenstephaner Hefeweissbier

Bayer, Staats-Brauerei

Steve: This is from the oldest brewery in the world, and you can tell practice makes perfect. No more spectacular than any other of this style, but is good from beginning to end. Refreshing malty taste, sweet, yeasty, goes down smooth and quenches you. Taste of fruit and spices mixed in as well. Nice and frothy.
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

There are more reviews for this beer. Click here to read them all.
Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Weihenstephaner Korbinian

Bayer, Staats-Brauerei

Steve: Half a liter. 7.4% ABV. 10:00 pm. And some people need sleep aids to fight insomnia. No thanks, I think I'll never have that problem if I have Korbinian. It's thick, rich (as if you couldn't tell, with "Dunkles Starkbier"...Dark Strong Beer...on the label). Nice and malty, this is what German Doppelbocks should all be about. A beer to knock you on your ass and help you call it a night. My favorite Doppebock used to be Salvator. I think it's now Korbinian. No, I KNOW it's now Korbinian. (7/23/2006)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Weihenstephaner Original Lager

Bayer, Staats-Brauerei

Steve: Don't get excited....you've heard this review before. This is a basic German lager. Crisp, clean, smooth, light, it's the stereotypical European lager. However, as I always say, that ain't such a bad thing. A beer that doesn't suck. Considering how many fall victim to the mass marketing of the American giants, this should be the oasis in the desert. However, most of you will either be too unlucky to find this or too ignorant to shell out the bucks for a beer of this quality. Oh well. More for me. (4/21/2000)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Weihenstephaner Vitus

Bayer, Staats-Brauerei

Steve: There are few words in the English language (or, in this case, German) that will attract my attention more than "Weizenbock." Maybe, "Hey, check out her boots!" or "ooh, free cheesecake samples at Costco." But after that, it's all Weizenbock. Think about it. Wheat. Bock. And to top it off, it's brewed by Weihenstephaner. That's like saying, "Sir, thanks, but this lap dance is on the house." I love Weizen beers. I love Bocks. Is there anything not to love when you combine the two? Nice lemon taste, bready, with a gold color, and an alcoholic kick that you don't really notice until after it's all gone. The only question is wondering why more American breweries aren't trying to copy this. (8/2/2009)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Weltenburger Kloster Asam-Bock

Klosterbrauerei Weltenburg

Steve: This is a double bock, the darkest of German bock beers, in a nice half liter bottle with a warming 7.2% alcohol, which is good for those winter nights. Good thing I bought this in Canada, as I couldn't have bought this in Atlanta. I was ready for bed after this. Nice malt flavor, very smooth, definitely one I'd like to try again. Comparable in taste to Salvator. (5/10/2003)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

Want to comment on this review? Discuss!

Würzburger Oktoberfest

Würzburger Hofbräu

Steve: This is a basic Central European lager. Not too bad. Slightly more flavorful because it's a seasonal, but that's about it. This is one of those beers that I will recommend if you can get it at a decent price, otherwise, avoid it. I bought it in NJ while there on business, and beer prices there tend to lean towards reasonable. Here, in Atlanta, they rape you. (2/21/2000)
full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif full.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif empty.gif

There are more reviews for this beer. Click here to read them all.
Want to comment on this review? Discuss!


Copyright © 1996-2013 The Opinionated Beer Co., Inc. All rights reserved.
Disclaimer | Contact Us